Immunization Guidelines for West Virginia Child Care Centers



The chart below lists the vaccines, dose number, and ages for pre-school age children to assist child care centers in assessing enrollees for age-appropriate immunization status.¹ The information in this chart is in accordance with Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) vaccination schedule. Vaccines shown in **blue** are required by state law.² Vaccines shown in **green** are recommended by the West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources (WVDHHR), Bureau for Public Health.

Age	Hepatitis B	Diphtheria, tetanus, and acellular pertussis (DTaP)	Polio	Measles, mumps, and rubella (MMR)*	Varicella	Haemophilus influenzae type b (Hib)	Pneumococca I conjugate vaccine (PCV)	Hepatitis A	Rotavirus
2 – 3 months	1st dose	1st dose	1st dose			1st dose	1st dose		See Note
4 – 5 months	2nd dose	2nd dose	2nd dose			2nd dose	2nd dose		
6 – 14 months	2nd dose	3rd dose	2nd dose			3rd dose	3rd dose		
15 – 17 months	2nd dose	3rd dose	2nd dose	1st dose	1 dose or history	3rd dose	3rd dose	1st dose	
18 months – 5 years	3rd dose	4th dose	3rd dose	2nd dose	2nd dose	4th dose	4th dose	2nd dose	

Note: Rotavirus vaccine series must be initiated between 6 weeks and 15 weeks of age; After age 15 weeks, the series should not be started. Subsequent doses should be administered at 4- to 10-week intervals. No dose of rotavirus vaccine should be given after 8 months, 0 days of age.

Minimum interval between doses for each vaccine can be found at https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/downloads/child/0-18yrs-child-combined-schedule.pdf. Influenza vaccine is recommended annually for all children six months of age and older.

For questions, contact the Division of Immunization Services at 1-800-642-3634.

¹Applicable immunization schedules can be found at http://www.cdc.gov by searching "Immunization Schedules."

² West Virginia Code § 16-3-4 and WVDHHR interpretative rule 64CSR95.