West Virginia Immunization Requirements for New School Enterers

State law and rules¹ require that all children entering school in West Virginia for the first time in grades K-12 must show proof of immunization against diphtheria, pertussis, tetanus, polio, measles, mumps, rubella, varicella, and hepatitis B unless properly medically exempted². The table below outlines immunization requirements as most commonly met.³ The West Virginia Bureau for Public Health recommends that vaccine doses administered 4 days or fewer before the minimum interval or age should be considered valid.

Vaccine	Requirements	Provisional Enrollment	Additional Information
DTaP/DTP Td/Tdap	Before admission, four doses required. One dose must be after the 4 th birthday.	After one dose, student may be allowed up 8 months to complete the series if necessitated by the minimum intervals of the vaccine schedule.	 Three doses only for children completing primary series at age 7 years and older. Children exempted from the pertussis component of DTaP vaccine should receive DT vaccine instead, or if past 7th birthday, Td / Tdap vaccine, as applicable.
Polio (IPV)	Before admission, three doses required. One dose must be after the 4 th birthday.	After one dose, student may be allowed up 7 months to complete the series if necessitated by the minimum intervals of the vaccine schedule.	 If polio immunization series included both OPV and IPV, then a total 3 of 4 doses are required depending upon the age of the child.
Measles, Mumps & Rubella (MMR)	Before admission, two doses required. First dose must be after the 1st birthday.	After one dose, student may be allowed up to 30 days to complete the series.	Doses should be a minimum of 28 days apart.
Varicella	Before admission, two doses required. First dose must be after the 1 st birthday.	After one dose, children less than 13 years of age may be allowed up to 90 days to obtain 2 nd dose; children aged 13 years and older may be allowed up to 30 days to obtain the 2 nd dose.	 Children less than 13 years of age are recommended to have an interval of 12 weeks between the 1st and 2nd doses, however, an interval of at least 4 weeks is acceptable. Children aged 13 years and older may receive the 2nd dose 28 days after the first dose. Immunity may also be demonstrated through the legal guardian's written or verbal attestation of varicella (chickenpox) disease.
Hepatitis B	Before admission, three doses required. Last dose must be after the age of 6 months.	After one dose, student may be allowed up to 4 months to complete the series if necessitated by the minimum intervals of the vaccine schedule.	

See WV Code §16-3-4 and 64CSR95 for further information.



² Medical exemptions must be requested by a physician who has treated or examined the child and be reviewed and submitted to the Immunization Officer of the Bureau for Public Health. Requests for exemptions must be based on current standards of immunization practice and include the following information: the vaccine(s) being exempted, the specific medical reason for the exemption, whether the exemption is temporary or permanent, and, if temporary, when the exemption should be reevaluated. West Virginia State Law does not allow for non-medical exemptions to immunization requirements.

³ Occasionally, based on product used or the age at which a child is being immunized, deviations from these requirements may be acceptable. Any deviation must be consistent with applicable, age appropriate immunization schedules found at http://www.cdc.gov and searching under "Immunization Schedules".